Muda Mrefu

Take a seat for this…

So we went to the coast for Easter with our friends Mike and Lisa, and had a great time.  Mike is the guy I mentioned in the last post, and he is a serious naturalist. When you walk through the bush with him he stops at every blade of grass to explain what is going on in the small ecosystem that you are walking through.  Anyway, at the beach he told me about his friend Hans who is a true entomologist, the kind that has written books etc.  So Mike sent Hans a picture of the mantid at school.  Hans answered as follows:

This is in fact an “incredibly safi” mantid. Unfortunately, it is not a new species, rather the nymph of Pseudocreobotra Wahlbergi. Because of their camouflage mastery, these insects are often overlooked. They even manage to change color like a chameleon. I have personally observed their transition from yellow-greens to purplish. The adult of this species is featured on plate 70 in my book. In a dorsal view you could see their characteristic target-like eye spot which helps them deter potential small bird predators. You can see this eyespot even on the as yet underdeveloped wing in Marcello’s nymph.

This critter belongs to a group called “flower mantids”, whose specialty is to perch on flowers motionless for hours, waiting for prey. Some close relatives actually resemble orchids in shape and color and thus favor those flowers for their devious intents.

Quite a number of other mantids employ camouflage as a means of survival in a hostile world. For example, some resemble bark, others burned grass, still others dead leaves (see Fig. 9-13 in my book). One of the rarest and most spectacular of mantids in Tanzania is the devil’s mantis Idolomantis diabolica, which I, unfortunately, never managed to see in nature.

I hope this helps. And remember “there is always one more bug”.

CHANGE COLOURS??!!

After our two week holiday I went back to school.  The heavy rains have started, and I was pretty certain that the mantis would not be there any more. I was  sad but not surprised to see that in fact the mantis was no longer there on its familiar sprig of lavender.  I told Mike that it had gone away, grieved a little, and I moved on in life.  Later in the week I went back to Lee Beth’s garden, and started looking around the other plants.  I got to the lemongrass plant, and below is what I saw.  I could not believe my eyes!  I called Mike immediately.  Lee Beth must be laughing.

mantis-2-version-2

April 17, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

