Muda Mrefu

Buy a window for Noel’s house.

Our night watchman Noel has been building a house for his family. It has taken him 5 years so far, and he is nearing the final stages. All he needs is the glass for the windows. Samantha and I went to visit him at his old house, which is right next to his new house. It is a 10 minute walk from our house, through the shambas and banana groves on the side of the mountain. His new house is impressive. It has three bedrooms, is made completely out of cement, and when it is ready will be very comfortable. A dream for Noel and his family. Noel estimated that he can get the money together for the glass (about $450) in two years if there is no bad luck (funerals to pay for was the example he provided me when I asked).  Samantha and I gave him half of the money so that he could get started.  Of that half, half (a quarter of the total if you are counting) was a gift, and the rest he will pay off by bringing us fresh milk every night.  He has two milking cows that his wife milks and takes the milk to sell.

Samantha and I are going to try to raise the other half by asking you to donate to Noel’s cause. Just use the donation button below that will take you to my Paypal account.  If we can get about 20 people to give $10 each, we should be in great shape. Feel comfortable to donate as much or as little as you want.  If you would prefer to send a check e-mail me and I can send you a US address that you can send a check to.

If you do make a donation make sure that you e-mail me or leave a comment here so that I know where the money is coming from.  I would like to keep you informed with how Noel’s house is doing.

Thanks.

August 8, 2008 - Posted by | Arusha

4 Comments »

  1. Hi Guys….We donated $25.00 for the windows! Hope you are all well!

    Comment by Beth and Ian | August 13, 2008 | Reply

  2. Thanks for this initiative. I will donate $20 toward Noel’s house. I’ll need your contacts in Arusha as I’ll ask one of my friends to give the cash to you. Blessings.
    Theresia

    Comment by Theresia Greca | August 13, 2008 | Reply

  3. Hi Marcello, I made my donation to Noel’s windows! : ) I can’t remember if I emailed you about it yesterday or not….so, here is (another) note from me. Wishing you all well. Hugs and kisses to Sam and Sofia for me ; ) Love, Jennine

    Comment by Jennine | August 15, 2008 | Reply

  4. Ciao guys, I sent $50.00 last week but I forgot to email you, better late than never.
    Zia Kay says you are all fine. I presume you will have been told Malaika has scodellato “Pietro”
    so the Bianchi’s are in turmoil! Ciao from Barbara too.

    Comment by Giorgio | August 25, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

