Muda Mrefu

Signed

Samantha and I have signed contracts that will keep us here in Tanzania for another school year (until July 2009).  We will have the option of staying another year beyond that if we want to, but it seems likely that we will leave.  There are so many things about life here that I am very hesitant to give up, but there is always a bigger picture.  Samantha and I came here for the quality of life, as well as for the opportunity to put some money away.  Beginning in August our salaries will be cut by about 9%, and here inflation is at 9% and climbing.  The quality of life, in my opinion, is really excellent, but sooner or later we would like to start to tuck away a shilling or two.  All of this has brought a couple of things to the front of my mind.  One is that one and a half years is no time at all, and with a five-month-old baby, that time seems to pass even faster.  So I feel like we have to see as much of this country and its people as possible before we leave.  The second is that I start to become very excited about all of the experiences we will be able to cram into our time.  Two sides of the same coin, I guess.  So, in this frame of mind, at Christmas time we went to Lushoto…

 

January 30, 2008 - Posted by | Arusha

2 Comments »

  1. I do believe one thing, either one falls in love with Africa, or out of love. There is no in between. I am sure you have caught the African “virus” and you are now torn between your finances, the life style, the child…. The 9 % inflation compared to the inflation currently in Europe and Italy in particular is nothing at all.
    I believe that if you gave yourself a few more years, you will gain not only moneywise but also on your family and broadening your knowledge….
    I live in Brussels though I was born in Moshi on the slopes of Kili. My children and grandchildren were born and raised here, but my heart in there. I would like to buy a home in Arusha so that I can settle there when I get my pension. I believe that I would have a better quality of life there.
    Blessings to you and your loved ones.

    Comment by Theresia Greca | January 31, 2008 | Reply

  2. zpcx inyx gdajvwslp jxpbyks ugqwlkfh bzoqcgrjv wgsczmjn

    Comment by ifzy uxmly | July 22, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

