Muda Mrefu

Baba Sofia

My wife Samantha and I are back from Italy, where we spent the summer. We came back with Sofia, our new and wonderful daughter. In Tanzania, when your firstborn arrives, you take on his or her name, preceded by Baba or Mama. It is an extra layer of joyadded to the great experience of fatherhood, being hailed as Baba Sofia every day. The Tanzanians now greet me with a loooong list of “Habari ya Sofia”, “Habari ya Mama Sofia” etc. every morning. Greetings used to take a long time, now they seem endless.

That is all that fatigue will allow me right now. I have to get to bed and rest up for tomorrow’s good mornings. But I am back and writing. A little sleepier, and certainly distracted. Welcome back to you too.

Baba Sofia

September 11, 2007 - Posted by | Baba Sofia

2 Comments »

  1. welcome baby sofia and welcome back baba sofia

    Comment by resa | September 14, 2007 | Reply

  2. Very, very cute! I’m sure she’ll grow up to be as smart as her father.

    Comment by Mason Sansonia | September 23, 2007 | Reply


Leave a comment